The winners at the Gulf Business Awards 2016 are revealed


The fifth edition of the Gulf Business Awards was held in a glittering ceremony at Taj Dubai on Tuesday evening and hosted some of the biggest business leaders in the UAE.

A total of 25 awards – judged by an independent panel and public voting – were given away during the evening, which also celebrated the 20th anniversary of Gulf Business magazine.

The awards sought to applaud excellence in the corporate world and recognised companies and business leaders across nine industries.

For his outstanding achievements and contributions, the founder and chairman of the UAE-based GEMS Education – Sunny Varkey was bestowed with the prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award for 2016.

The coveted Gulf Business Company of the Year award was bagged by home-grown brand Jumeirah, and the 2016 Business Leader of the Year award was handed to the CEO of Dubai Airports, Paul Griffiths, while another high profile winner – His Excellency Abdul Aziz Al Ghurair – took home the Banking Business Leader of the Year trophy.

Neil King, editor of Gulf Business, said: “You only have to look at the names of our winners to see that this has been yet another stellar year for business in the Gulf.

“Some of the region’s biggest companies and individuals have enhanced their already impressive reputations, while others have shone throughout the past 12 months to become household names – not just in the GCC but around the world.

“We are proud to recognise the achievements of our winners and their fellow nominees and look forward to another year full of exceptional business performance.”

The judging panel included: Ian Fairservice, Motivate managing partner and group editor-in-chief; Neil King, editor of Gulf Business; Ronaldo Mouchawar, CEO and co-founder of; Brandy Scott, host of Business Breakfast on Dubai Eye 103.8; and Hisham Farouk, CEO of Grant Thornton UAE.

The evening was hosted by Motivate in association with Audi, the official car partner and category sponsors: Samsonite, Grant Thornton, Faithful+Gould, Kiza, Atiyeh Saba, Arton Capital, DeLonghi Group and Dubai Technology Entrepreneur Centre

Click here for a full list of winners.